West Middlesex Hospital, London
The Brentford Union Workhouse opened in Isleworth in 1837 and was later reconverted and renamed the West Middlesex hospital in 1902 by architect W.H Ward.
The former Victorian infirmary closed in 2003 when the impractical layout became an obvious hindrance to the hospitalís ability to provide efficient care as competently as other new hospital designs in the area.
This large site comes complete with its own West Middlesex radio station and large triple body-slab mortuary which also boasts four asymmetrical body freezer trays devoted to bio-hazardous carcasses.
As years have passed since the hospitalís closure, signs of theft and mindless vandalism have left the wards here in a ravaged state and walking around the empty corridors fills the space with loud and resonating crunches from the swamp of shattered glass and debris which fills the floors.
Copyright © Elle Dunn 2007. All rights reserved.
Use of any photographs on this website requires permission of the author Elle Dunn.
Website design/production by Koolheart Productions